EXPLORING GOD’S WORD [26]


Today’s word  we are looking at is comfort and some things the Bible says about it.There are many things that cause us discomfort, like, broken relationships, loss of loved ones, etc. No matter what, we must say thank you for all things as we ask our Father in Heaven for comfort. Below are a few verses that speak about comfort; I trust that you will be encouraged and comforted by these words from God’s word.

Job 15:11 Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)
11 Are God’s consolations not enough for you,
even the words that deal gently with you?
Psalm 71:19-21
19 Your righteousness reaches heaven, God,
You who have done great things;
God, who is like You?
20 You caused me to experience
many troubles and misfortunes,
but You will revive me again.
You will bring me up again,
even from the depths of the earth.
21 You will increase my honor
and comfort me once again

Psalm 86:17 (HCSB)
17 Show me a sign of Your goodness;
my enemies will see and be put to shame
because You, Lord, have helped and comforted me.
Psalm 94:19English Standard Version (ESV)
19 When the cares of my heart are many,
your consolations cheer my soul.
Psalms 119:50 This is my comfort in my affliction,
that your promise gives me life.
76 Let your steadfast love comfort me
according to your promise to your servant.
Isaiah 40:1-2 English Standard Version
Comfort for God’s People
40 Comfort, comfort my people, says your God.
2 Speak tenderly to Jerusalem,
and cry to her
that her warfare[a] is ended,
that her iniquity is pardoned,
that she has received from the Lord’s hand
double for all her sins.
2 Corinthians 1:3 English Standard Version (ESV)
God of All Comfort
3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort,
Hebrews 6:18English Standard Version (ESV)
18 so that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us.

[ prepared by Winston Staples ]

Author: wint68,70pluswint

I am married, have four lovely children and five grandchildren. I love gospel music and to write poetry as a hobby. I love animals such as dogs, and white tailed deer. I love good clean humor.

Leave a Reply

