EXPLORING GOD’S WORD [59A]


TOPIC: Ascension of Christ [a]

*Prophecies respecting His ascension:  Psalms 24:Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in. [ Psalms 68:18 Thou hast ascended on high, thou hast led captivity captive: thou hast received gifts for men; yea, for the rebellious also, that the Lord God might dwell among them.]  E ph 4:7-8:

But unto every one of us is given grace according to the measure of the gift of Christ.

Wherefore he saith, When he ascended up on high, he led captivity captive, and gave gifts unto men.

*His ascension fortold by Himself: a/ John 6:62 What and if ye shall see the Son of man ascend up where he was before? b/ John 7:33 Then Jesus said to them, “I shall be with you a little while longer, and then I go to Him who sent Me. c/ John 14:28 You have heard Me say to you, ‘I am going away and coming back to you.’ If you loved Me, you would rejoice because I said,”I am going to the Father,’ for My Father is greater than I. d/ John 16:“But now I go away to Him who sent Me, and none of you asks Me, ‘Where are You going?’ e/ John 20:17 Jesus said to her, “Do not cling to Me, for I have not yet ascended to My Father; but go to My brethren and say to them, ‘I am ascending to My Father and your Father, and to My God and your God.’”

*He ascended forty days after His resurrection: Acts 1: to whom He also presented Himself alive after His suffering by many infallible proofs, being seen by them during forty days and speaking of the things pertaining to the kingdom of God.

*His ascension described: Acts 1:Now when He had spoken these things, while they watched, He was taken up, and a cloud received Him out of their sight.

[ prepared by Winston Staples ]

 

About wint68,70pluswint

I am married, have four lovely children and five grandchildren. I love gospel music and to write poetry as a hobby. I love animals such as dogs, and white tailed deer. I love good clean humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

